Meet Erika


Name: Erika 

Birthday: 8/29/82  (35 years old)

Spouse: Scott, married 13 years

Hometown: Wilmington, MA (just north of Boston)

How Long in Memphis: 7 years

What brought you to the city: Well,  a very long story short, my husband is originally from Mississippi and worked in Memphis before we ever met.  However, we met up in Boston and lived there for the first 6 years of our marriage.  I honestly never dreamed I would live anywhere other than MA, but life took a turn and we wound up here!  I will be honest, Boston will always be home to me no matter what, but I am so grateful for this home away from home we have found in Memphis.  

Other places lived: Just the Boston area 🙂

How many kids:  3 boys!  Persson (this is my maiden name and sounds like pear-son) is 8.  He is a lover of Legos and he still loves to snuggle with me which I will be soaking up till the moment he doesn’t.  Boston is 5.  He also answers to “Boss” which is quite fitting for him.  George is 3 and can be found almost always smiling, and trying to cheer people up who are not.

Background: I have a BA in Student Ministries/Biblical Studies from Gordon College in Wenham, Ma.  While still in Boston, I worked on staff at our church, Grace Chapel on the Student Ministry team.  Since moving to Memphis, I have been blessed to be able to stay home with my kids while still remaining involved with students.  I am passionate in helping to provide not just great role models for teenagers, but to help them build healthy, safe relationships with adult leaders who genuinely care for them and are willing to show up for them, listen, and give tough love when needed.   

Community Involvement: My family and I attend church at Highpoint in Arlington where I serve as a volunteer leader for their Student Ministry Program called Crew.  I help to lead a small group of junior and senior girls. I have also been involved in serving college students and young adults.  I homeschool my kiddos and we are a part of an amazing program, as well as community, called Classical Conversations.  We attend the Bartlett community.

Super-Hero mom strength: I am a kid at heart; I LOVE to play.

Time of day: When everyone else is in bed.

You can find me snacking on: Rosemary and Olive Oil Triscuits with extra thin Colby Jack cheese and pepperoni

Passions/Hobbies: Photography, friendship, writing, Audible, podcasts.

Likes: Coffee. Movies & late night Netflix binging. All good food, especially seafood and steak, playing sports.

Dislikes: Wasps, poor grammar, slow drivers, being far away from my family.

Fun facts: I have an identical twin.  I have a slight obsession with the possible existence of bigfoot.




Comments are closed.